Emory University School of Medicine

Emory University School of Medicine
Team Science Awardees from the Johns Hopkins Pancreatic Cancer Team,  Opening Ceremony/Award Presentations 23.09


ArtCAN supports Pancreatic Cancer Research at Emory University lead by Volkan Adsay, MD, Professor and Vice Chair of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Director of Anatomic Pathology and member of the Winship Cancer Center.

Currently more Americans die of pancreas cancer than prostate cancer, and it is estimated that in a few years it will surpass breast cancer too in this regard. Its 5-year survival rate is less than 5%.

For Dr. Adsay and his team, there are two long-term goals of his research: Pancreatobiliary Pathology Research

  1. To Achieve more reliable criteria in the accurate diagnosis, classification and prognostication of tumors
  2. To elucidate the mechanisms of cancer formation

To learn more about the Pancreatobiliary Pathology Research lead by Dr. Adsay at Emory University please visit their website.

The Seventh Annual American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Team Science Award was recently presented to Johns Hopkins, Emory University and Sloan-Kettering for their collaboration in the fight against Pancreatic Cancer. The AACR Team Science Award recognizes an outstanding interdisciplinary research team for its innovative and meritorious scientific work that has advanced or will likely advance cancer research, detection, diagnosis, prevention or treatment. This multi-institutional team was selected based on its tremendous impact on understanding of the fundamental genetic changes that characterize pancreatic cancer. Working together for 10 years, the interdisciplinary team, led by Ralph H. Hruban, M.D., of Johns Hopkins, comprises 20 faculty members from three different institutions: Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md.; Emory University in Atlanta, Ga.; and Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York, N.Y. Emory’s research was led by Volkan Adsay, MD.

(Pictured right from top to bottom: AACR Team Science Award Honorees – Johns Hopkins, Emory & Sloan-Kettering; Dr. Adsay’s team of scientists at Emory; Dr. Volkan Adsay)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>